UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: japanese art
Record 4 of 10

System Number: 03555
Date: 14 November [1889][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Marcus Bourne Huish[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 7/92/2-3
Document Type: A and MsLd[3]


Nov. 14

Paris

My Dear Huish -

I hear from Mr Hanson[4] that Mr Brown[5] has spoken to him about my proposed exhibition[6]. I dont know, as yet, at all what views you still entertain concerning it. I saw some time ago a paragraph which in a Pall Mall Gazette[7] announcing an a Whistler exhibition at the Fine Art Society for February. This I should have considered curiously looked upon as at least premature, considering[8] that our agreement has as yet to be properly drawn up and signed considering if I could have supposed you at all responsible for newspaper rumours of the kind.

I was confirmed in my view of the unimportance of the paragraph by the [p. 2] announcement of your intended Japanese Exhibition[9] for the Spring. From this latter I presume that your plans are now altered with reference to myself. I should never have dreamted of an exhibition excepting in the full London season and I do not propose for one moment to interfere with the brilliant certain success of anything so certainly interesting and popular as it would be at that moment, undoubtedly that must attend the serious and artistic works in question must command - esp enhanced in interest evenas their worth will be, by contrast with what wo the worried Japan try

of which I am sure the display of such a collection wouldof these last works from Japan must command -

Wherefore my dear Huish, I think that it will be better for both the Society & myself to put off defer to the Whistler Exhibition -

I shall be in town shortly and will have pleasure in showing you the new Amsterdam plates[10] -

Always -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  14 November [1889]
Dated by reference to Amsterdam. JW had been in Holland until the end of October 1889.

2.  Marcus Bourne Huish
Marcus Bourne Huish (1843 - d.1921), barrister, writer and art dealer, Director of the Fine Art Society [more].

3.  A and MsLd
The majority of the text was written by Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more], with some additions by JW, starting at 'the serious and artistic ...'.

4.  Mr Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

5.  Mr Brown
Ernest George Brown (1853 or 1854-1915), assistant manager at the Fine Art Society [more].

6.  proposed exhibition
JW did not have another exhibition of his work at the FAS at this time.

7.  Pall Mall Gazette
Not identified.

8.  considering
'considering ... signed' was written in the left margin, deleted, and then reinstated (by a dotted line under the words).

9.  Japanese Exhibition
Possibly an exhibition of the work of Mortimer Luddington Menpes (1860-1938), artist [more].

10.  Amsterdam plates
'Holland set', 1889 (K.402-416) (excat 10).