UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lithographic stump
Record 12 of 16

System Number: 03353
Date: [28 November 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 109
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


110. Rue du Bac - Paris -

My dear Tom -

I have sent you by today's post 40 sheets of beautiful Dutch[4] - and the touched proof of the lying down figure[5] -

This has nothing to do with Mons - Marty's publication[6] - for as I wrote you last night[7], you will print for him the seated draped figure[8] -

Now this is my notion - I want your [p. 2] Father[9] to take a transfer of the lying down figure as it is on the stone, and put it onto another stone that he will have prepared for painting upon!

Send me the stone packed in a little box like the one I sent by Marty - It will run no risk here, for they tell me they are much accustomed to receiving them at the customs, and if you put on the outside Pierre Lithographique[10], they are not even likely to open it - Besides put Dessin pas fixé[11]  Prière avoir Grands Soins - and address to me [p. 3] 86. Rue Notre Dame des Champs - adding after my name Artiste Peintre -

Then I can with a few touches of the brush make a wonderful thing of it!! -

Of course you will send lump of ink[13] such as I used before and the two little bottles of mixture (marking which for painting and which for washing out)

Perhaps they had better come by post -

Now I sent the proof that your Father might see what I am up to - Dont show it and send it back to me -

[p. 4] Many pleasant things to both of you -
In great haste.

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Tom Way. Junr -
21. Wellington Street
Strand
London -
Angleterre
[stamp x 2:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[stamp:] POSTE / 5 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] PARIS - 80 / R. DU BAC / 8E 28 / NOV / 93
[postmark on verso:] LONDON [W. C.?] / S. M. P. / KM / NO 29 / 93


Notes:

1.  [28 November 1893]
Dated from the postmark; dated in pencil in another hand on p. 1, '28 Novr 93'.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, pp. 75-76, no. 61.

4.  Dutch
Dutch antique paper.

5.  lying down figure
Nude Model, Reclining (C.73).

6.  Marty's publication
André E. Marty (b. 1857), journalist, illustrator and print publisher [more], publisher of L'Estampe originale.

7.  wrote you last night
See #03352.

8.  seated draped figure
The Draped Figure, Seated (C.72).

9.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

10.  Pierre Lithographique
Double underlined; Fr., lithographic stone.

11.  Dessin pas ... Soins
Fr., Drawing not fixed, please handle with great care.

12.  lump of ink
JW wished to work with lithotint; the lump of ink may have been a stick of tusche, or solid ink, which was dissolved in water or another solvent to form a range of tonal washes for painting on the lithographic stone, rather than crayon estompe, which Whistler had used previously for stump work (see #03346 and #03350). The bottle of mixture for painting may have contained a solution for mixing with the stick of tusche; the washing out solution suggests a solvent used in the processing of the image before inking the stone for printing, or prior to fixing the image on the stone. T. R. Way, in his reply, was reluctant to divulge his father's secrets (#06100).