UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lithographic stump
Record 3 of 16

System Number: 03340
Date: [17 September 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 97
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


'17 Sept 93'

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Tom -

The box of chalks and piece of stuff[4] all right - and many thanks -

I cant of course absolutely judge of the quality of things themselves until I get proofs on the beautiful Dutch paper, flat and properly pressed -

Still I can certainly say that the man seated by fireplace[5] was only sent by accident - and never [p. 2] meant to exist at all - Clean off the stone at once and destroy or rather send me every proof you have already pulled - and write me a line to say you have done so -

I am of course anxious to see the others - and am sending you paper for the final pulls - But all this is comparative experiment - and I think I shall get something much better directly -

I have also found some transfer paper of Lemercier's[6] that ought to be better than the German paper[7] we are accustomed to - Also it is of about one third the price - However you will see -

With kindest regards to all
Very Sincerely

J McN Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Thomas Way Jnr.
21. Wellington Street
Strand
London
Angleterre[8]
[stamp:] POSTE / 25 / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE
[postmark:] PARIS / 80 / R. DU BAC / 7E 17 / SEPT / 93
[postmark on verso:] LONDON / [...]

[on verso:] Damp Wet the proof I send you & press just like an etching -



Notes:

1.  [17 September 1893]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

3.  ALS
'17 Sep 93' was written in an unknown hand in pencil on p. 1. Published in Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, no. 44, pp. 62-63.

4.  stuff
Normal crayons were too hard to use directly with the stump; JW needed rubbing ink stick, or crayon estompe. The 'piece of stuff' was probably a block of rubbing ink stick.

5.  man seated by fireplace
The Fireplace (C.61). JW had received some proofs of the Brittany subjects and was waiting for new proofs on Dutch paper. The latter were recorded by T. Way in his account to JW for 19 September 1893 (see Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, Apps. I I.3, I I.4). JW sent the Brittany drawings on 12 September (#03337). Way would have transferred and printed them on 13 or 14 September, sent them the following day.

6.  Lemercier's
Lemercier, lithographic printer in Paris [more]. Lemercier's French transfer paper may have been a type called 'papier bristol-chine glacé pour la plume', which had a smooth, glazed surface and was made specifically for drawing with pen. JW later described the French paper he had found as being intended for pen and ink work (#03345). He may have obtained it through Duchtel, Lemercier's artistic printer, who was familiar with the wide range of transfer papers available and had described them in a treatise of 1893 (Spink, op. cit.; and see also #06097.

7.  German paper
Unidentified.

8.  Angleterre
Double underlined.