UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: lithographic stump
Record 1 of 16

System Number: 03337
Date: [12 September 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Thomas Robert Way[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 96
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


'12 Sep 93'

110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Tom -

I was much pleased to get your letter[4] in the midst of my journeyings in Brittany - and now that we[5] have come back I send you as a reply three drawings[6] for your Father[7] to put on [p. 2] stone - Of course I shall be most anxious to see the proofs - and I hope your Father will like them - I am sending you also some old Dutch paper to pull them upon -

They will doubtless want some little correcting - so perhaps you had better send me first, and right off, some two or three proofs on ordinary paper - and only one of each on the Dutch - that I may see -

You will notice that I have made an experiment with the stump[8] - but I have only begun - and will send you a better combination directly - Meanwhile don't say anything about it - and dont show these until I am ready for them to be seen - I am very much interested in the lithograph business again - more than ever - and think I am about to get hold of something quite fresh! - You will see -

Perhaps we may do something for the "Studio[9]" - You tell me that it is "catching on" - [p. 3] I wish I could have been present at your evening when you lectured[10] on lithography - However I may run over and see you all in Wellington Street[11] soon -

On the other hand tell your Father that he really ought to come over some day and see me here!

Give my love to him - and believe me Always sincerely

J McN. Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Thomas Way. Junr
21. Wellington Street
Strand -
London -
Angleterre -
[2 stamps removed]
[postmark:] PARIS / 80 / R. DU BAC / 5E 12 / SEPT / 93
[postmark:] LONDON W. C. / C. X. / BA / SP 13 / 93


Notes:

1.  [12 September 1893]
Dated from the postmark and the date written in pencil in another hand on p. 1.

2.  Thomas Robert Way
Thomas Robert Way (1861-1913), printer, lithographer and painter [more].

3.  ALS
Published by Spink, Nesta R., The Lithographs of James McNeill Whistler, gen. eds Harriet K. Stratis and Martha Tedeschi, Chicago, 1998, vol. 2, no. 42, pp. 60-61.

4.  your letter
Unlocated.

5.  we
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], spent July and August in Brittany visiting Vitré, Lannion, Paimpol, Perros Guirec, and the Côtes-du-Nord.

6.  three drawings
T. R. Way proofed and catalogued five lithographs from the Brittany trip: The Fireplace (C.61), The Marketplace, Vitré (C.62), Vitré: The Canal (C.63),Gabled Roofs (C.64), and The Clock-Makers, Paimpol (C.65).

7.  Father
Thomas Way (1837-1915), lithographic printer [more].

8.  stump
A tool for smudging lines (see #03339).

9.  Studio
The Studio.

10.  lectured
T. R. Way gave a lecture and demonstration of lithography on 5 May 1893 for the Art Workers Guild at Barnard's Inn Hall. He set up a press, pulled impressions from two of JW's stones, and provided an exhibition that included prints by JW (see Way, Thomas Robert, Memories of James McNeill Whistler, the Artist, London and New York, 1912, pp. 1010-2). The Pennells account of the evening, however, implied that the audience did not think highly of the lithographs from JW's stones that Way distributed (see Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Whistler Journal, Philadelphia, 1921, p. 251).

11.  Wellington Street
Since 1866, Way's lithographic printing office had been at 21 Wellington Street, Strand, London, W. C.