UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 123 of 172

System Number: 03305
Date: [30 November 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: Bayswater
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 257
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


My dear Nellie -

I have not been well lately - and rather wearied - not to say worried - -

If I may, I will come and dine on Sunday next - day after tomorrow - that I may see you before I go off to Paris again for a while -

[p. 2] Write a line & say if half past 7. is the right time -

I am staying at
Garlants Hotel.
Suffolk Street
Pall Mall.

With kindest regards to you all -

J McN W.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Mrs William McNeill Whistler
Care of Mrs Manuel[4] -
2. Marlborough Gate.
Bayswater
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] LONDON. S. W. / [2.15 AM?] / DE 1 / 00
[postmark on verso:] [...] N. W. / 25 / 7 30 AM / DE 1 / 00


Notes:

1.  [30 November 1900]
Dated from reference to 'Sunday next - day after tomorrow', which indicates that JW was writing on the Friday. As the postmark reads 1 December 1900 it may have been that JW was writing late in the evening.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
The stationery has a deep mourning border.

4.  Mrs. Manuel
Probably Sophia Eustratius Manuel (1853-1905), née Ionides [more].