The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: costume, dress
Record 9 of 17

System Number: 03002
Date: [1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler LB 4/103/2
Document Type: MsLc[3]

21. Cheyne Walk,

Cher Poète

Je propose de venir demain matin - vers midi - et demi - si vous n'avez pas d'autres engagements -

Mais je ne vous apportrai [sic] que les regrets de ces dames[4], car elles ont toujours des rendez-vous avec leurs dressmakers.

J'espère que tout a été bien ce matin? J'ai été présent au départ, et tout[5] a été en parfaite condition.

Une visite chez Carolus[6] a [sic] vous raconter!

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


Dear Poet,

I propose to come over tomorrow morning - at around half past twelve - if you have no other engagements.

But I will only be bringing over the regrets of these ladies, as they still have appointments with their dressmakers.

I trust that all was well this morning? I was present at the departure, and everything was in perfect condition.

A visit to Carolus to tell you about!

[butterfly signature]


1.  [1892]
Dated by address, and by Montesquiou's known visit to London, as well as by the copyist, who noted that it was '1892'.

2.  Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac
Comte Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac (1855-1921), Symbolist writer and poet, and collector [more].

3.  MsLc
Copied by Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more]. Published in Newton, Joy, La Chauve-Souris et le Papillon. Correspondance Montesquiou-Whistler, Glasgow, 1990, pp. 203-4.

4.  ces dames
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], and probably her sisters Ethel and Maud.

5.  tout
Possibly a reference to the Empire bed.

6.  Carolus
Émile-Auguste Carolus-Duran (1837-1917), painter [more].