The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: sport, cricket
Record 1 of 2

System Number: 02585
Date: 17 July 1877
Author: Frederick Richards Leyland[1]
Place: Liverpool
Recipient: JW
Place: London
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler L121
Document Type: ALS

No. 14[2]

Woolton Hall

17 July 1877


I am told that on Friday last you were seen walking about with my wife[3] at Lord's Cricket Ground.

After my previous letter[4] to you on this subject it is clear that I cannot expect from you the ordinary [p. 2] conduct of a Gentleman; and I therefore now tell you that if after this intimation I find you in her society again I will publicly horsewhip you.

Yours truly

Fred. R. Leyland

J. M. Whistler Eq

[p. 3] [butterfly signature][5]

This document is protected by copyright.


J. M. Whistler Esqr
2 Lindsay Cottages
Old Battersea Bridge
London S W
[postmark:] E / LIVERPOOL / 17 J[ ] 77 / 36
[postmark (on verso):] LONDON - S. W. / C 7 / JY 18 / 77


1.  Frederick Richards Leyland
Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more].

2.  No. 14
Written in JW's hand, in pencil. The Leyland correspondence is numbered, and possibly JW was contemplating legal action by or against Leyland. This letter was written on paper with a narrow black mourning border. JW replied to this letter at #02588; there are also draft versions at #02586 and #02608.

3.  wife
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more]. The meeting took place on 13 July 1877.

4.  letter
Letter from F. R. Leyland to JW, 6 July 1877 (#02581).

5.  [butterfly signature]
This signature has been written very lightly in pencil by JW.