The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: nocturne
Record 140 of 143

System Number: 00023
Date: [3 September 1899][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris]
Recipient: Inez Addams[2]
Place: [Killiney, Co. Dublin]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler A23
Document Type: ALS[3]

My dear Miss Bate -

I want you to send me at once a little indication of what the two pictures[4] you saw, in the Dublin house, were like -

I know nothing of them!

That is, I neither trace them by their names - nor by the fact of their being [p. 2] in Ireland!

But this is whispered only into the ear of the wise and devoted apprentice!

Who now sallies forth on her first mission - "his secrets not revealing" . . to cover herself with distinction! -

First then, a little sketch, in your answer tomorrow, as you remember the "Piccadilly" -

Was it a Nocturne? - Can you think of its size? - about -

What can be the "Summer"? -

I want you to arrouse [sic] no curiosity - but you might perhaps manage to see the two paintings again -

I will write more directly I hear from you - First I want the little description and sketch as you remember -

Was the "Piccadilly" an upright? [sketch of upright frame] Was the frame painted? -

[p. 3] In great haste - but with full confidence!

Very sincerely

J McN. Whistler

What is the name of the man who has these strange works? -

This document is protected by copyright.


Miss Inez Bate -
Co. Dublin -
Ireland -
[postmark:] DIEPPE / SEINE INFRE / [12?]E 3 / SEPT / 99
[postmark on verso:] [KI]LLINEY S. O / [CO] DUBLIN / AM / 7 - 15 / SE 5 / 99


1.  [3 September 1899]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Inez Addams
Inez Eleanor Addams (fl. 1898-1927), née Bate, painter [more].

3.  ALS
Written on mourning paper.

4.  two pictures
Nocturne in grey and gold - Piccadilly (M.862) and Sunrise; gold and grey (M.917).