UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: marriage (JW and BW)
Record 52 of 57

System Number: 01922
Date: 18 November 1888
Author: Deborah Delano Haden[1]
Place: Alresford, Hampshire
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler H23
Document Type: ALS


18th Novr 88

WOODCOTE,
ALRESFORD,
HANTS.

My dear Jemmie

"Better late than never" is the characteristic moti[f?] of our procrastinating race. In this case it may refer either to your marriage or to the congratulations upon it wh. ought to have gone to you many weeks ago - [p. 2] I might say that you were abroad, or that I was ill - or any other of the little excuses with wh. one tries to patch up one's shortcomings, but we know each other too well for this sort of thing, & so I had better plead nothing but the family habit.

Supposing this to be accepted I proceed with [p. 3] my best wishes for this recent event in your life, & with the hope that I may upon my next visit to town have the pleasure of making my new sister in laws[2] acquaintance. In the mean time I leave to you the "bien des choses[3]" that I would ask her to accept, & beg you to believe me as ever

Yr affectionate

Sis.


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

'Letter[4] from Mrs Seymour Hayden
Re. marriage[5] of J. McN. Whistler to Beatrix Godwin
1888.[6]'



Notes:

1.  Deborah Delano Haden
Deborah ('Debo' or 'Sis') Delano Haden (1825-1908), née Whistler, JW's half-sister [more].

2.  my new sister in laws
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  bien des choses
Fr., many good things.

4.  Letter
'Letter ... Haden' written by Beatrix Whistler.

5.  Re. marriage ... Godwin
Sentence written in another hand, in pencil.

6.  1888.
Written in another hand.