UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health, cold
Record 4 of 31

System Number: 01741
Date: [23/30 March 1878?][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Edward William Godwin[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler G107
Document Type: ALS


I have signed and send herewith - but didn put in about the Chubb[3] lock and latch key - also do away with big key hole in front door - Also should want the flag staff at once - and white bunting - Also are the bedrooms at back going on all right?

Kindest regards to Mrs Godwin[4] whose cold [p. 2] I hope is better this morning -

[butterfly signature]

Dont want the yellow tiles[5] round fire place all over the house - In the dining room yes - in drawing room studio they might be red brick tiles - very simple and doubtless cheaper even -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [23/30 March 1878?]
This letter probably dates from after JW's letter to E. W. Godwin on 22 March 1878 (#01739).

2.  Edward William Godwin
Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more]. He designed JW's new house and studio, the White House in Tite Street.

3.  Chubb
The long-established security firm.

4.  Mrs Godwin
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

5.  yellow tiles
JW had specified Doulton's plain yellow tiles in a letter to Godwin dated 22 March 1878 (#01739).