The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 152 of 172

System Number: 13842
Date: [May/June 1902?][1]
Author: Rosalind Birnie Philip[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: Charles Lang Freer[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Philip
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALf[4]

Dear Mr Freer -

Can you lend him[5] one of your overcoats for tonight? Thank you very much for the note which he insists on seeing!

He thanks you very much but thinks that we might wait until tomorrow to see what comes of our own efforts.

Will you please give Marie[6] the number of your room [...]

This document is protected by copyright.


Charles L. Freer. Esq


1.  [May/June 1902?]
Dated from Freer's known visit to London in the summer of 1902, and the implication that JW was not in good health, and felt the cold, since he wanted Freer's coat.

2.  Rosalind Birnie Philip
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Charles Lang Freer
Charles Lang Freer (1856-1919), industrialist, collector and founder of the Freer Gallery of Art [more].

4.  ALf
There appears to be a sheet missing from this letter as it ends abruptly.

5.  him
That is, JW.

6.  Marie
A servant.