The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: sales (JW's work)
Record 3 of 23

System Number: 12194
Date: 21 July 1866
Author: F. J. Pelgeram[1]
Place: [London]
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection
Document Type: ALS

21st July 1866

Dear Sir,

Please let me know the address of a Lady[3] who called here some time ago, respecting Mr Whistler's affaires[4] -

& oblige,
Dear Sir,
Yours respectfully

F. J. Pelgeram

J. A. Rose Esq

'Gambart[6] 21 July 1866

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  F.J. Pelgeram
F. J. Pilgeram (fl. 1861-1872), of Pilgeram and Lefevre, publisher of reproductive prints [more].

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  Lady
Probably Joanna Hiffernan (b. ca 1843), JW's model and mistress [more].

4.  affaires
JW was in Valparaiso, Chile, during the Chilean conflict with Spain and would not return to London until September 1866. Before he left, he made a will in Joanna Hiffernan's favour on 31 January (#11483) and gave her power of attorney to manage his affairs (#12127). However, JW seems to have left her with little money in hand and her attempts to sell his pictures were not very successful (#11484).

5.  95
Documents were numbered in another hand, possibly by Rose's clerk.

6.  Gambart ... Whistler
Ernest Gambart (1814-1902), of Ernest Gambart and Co., wholesale printsellers [more]. Written in another hand at right-angles to the main text in the left-hand corner.