The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 144 of 172

System Number: 11659
Date: [4 November 1901?][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 259
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]

My dear Nellie -

I have not been allowed out yet - and this tiresome cough still goes on -

However perhaps soon I may come and pay my call of ceremony, [p. 2] and meanwhile with best compliments to your Mother[4], & again many thanks to you, I send you enclosed cards for another private View -

If I get another I will send it to Mrs. Johnston[5] -



I hope Mrs. Sophie[6] has sent you better news of herself -

20. North Audley Street[7]


This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [4 November 1901?]
Dated by the address and almanac and the reference to JW's health.

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
The paper has a deep mourning border, in memory of William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

4.  Mother
Hariclia Xeno Ionides (1823-1919), mother of Helen E. Whistler [more].

5.  Mrs. Johnston
Not identified.

6.  Mrs. Sophie
Sophia Eustratius Manuel (1853-1905), née Ionides [more].

7.  20. North Audley Street
Tallant's Hotel.