UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: race
Record 13 of 14

System Number: 11658
Date: [24 October 1900][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 256
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


My dear Nellie -

If I am here I will come on Saturday or Sunday - in which case I will let you know -

But it is most probable that I shall run over to Paris on Friday morning - & to return on Tuesday -

As to the Greuze[3], my advice is not to hesitate! unless I know more -

I am astonished at your being offered £60. for it - If it were an original, its [p. 2] market value might be anything - but perhaps ten pounds - or say £15 - at most -

I should say then take the sixty by all means -

I will put the Butterfly on the proof - which I suppose I will find in the parcel with the picture - I shall open it in the studio tomorrow - Don't send for it until next week -

Now I have meant to ask you if you know or remember a Dr. Perry[4]! - short - stout rather - what one might call "Frappe" - black crisp hair - a cross between a nigger and a Jew -

Has been several times to see me - as a great friend of Willie[5]! - and this afternoon at last got in, and, before I knew where I was, had cheque out of me for £5 - !

This he proposed to return next week! - University of Philadelphia - or Pennsylvania I think he says he is from -

Do you suppose I shall ever see the money again? -

Always

J McN W

Wednesday eveng -


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

[monogram:] WH[6]
To
Mrs William McNeill Whistler
5. Aubrey Road
Notting Hill
Kensington
[stamp:] POSTAGE AND REVENUE / ONE PENNY
[postmark:] [LONDON].W / 10 AM / OC 24 / 00 / 11
[postmark on verso, illegible]


Notes:

1.  [24 October 1900]
Dated from the postmark, the almanac and the reference to Paris. JW went over to Paris on 25 October 1900 (see #07723).

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  Greuze
Jean-Baptiste Greuze (1725-1805), painter and engraver [more].

4.  Dr. Perry
Dr Perry, associate of William McNeill Whistler; JW's racist remarks apparently reflect his family's views and attitudes.

5.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]; he had served as a surgeon in the Confederate Army during the Civil War, having trained in Baltimore and Philadelphia.

6.  WH
The monogram of William Heinemann (1863-1920), publisher [more].