The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: exhibitions
Record 16 of 496

System Number: 11308
Date: [25 February 1870][1]
Author: JM
Place: London
Recipient: Lucas Ionides[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 11/1020
Document Type: TLc


2, Lindsay [sic] Row,

'Feb. 25th 1870'

Dear Lucas,

I am really very sorry that I can give no exact answer to your question but I have so long ceased to be an exhibitor that I am no longer an authority upon the matter. However I believe there is plenty of time for if I remember rightly the 1st of April used to be the day for receiving the pictures at the Salon[4] in Paris -

You must not trust to me though - and unfortunately I find no one here would know anything about it to-night.

With kind regards to your wife[5],
Ever yours,

J. A. McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [25 February 1870]
Date recorded in ms. note at the top of the sheet.

2.  Lucas Ionides
Lucas ('Luke') Alexander Ionides (1837-1924), stockbroker and businessman [more].

A note at the top of the sheet records that the letter was written on Arts Club paper.

4.  Salon
JW last exhibited at the 85th exhibition, Ouvrages de peinture, sculpture, architecture, gravure et lithographie des artistes vivants, Palais des Champs Elysées, Paris, 1867. He did not exhibit again at the Salon until 1882.

5.  wife
Elfrida Elizabeth Ionides (1848-1929), née Bird, wife of Luke A. Ionides [more].