UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: oil painting, sale
Record 20 of 334

System Number: 10930
Date: [c. 8 October 1884][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Henry Graves[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Houghton Library, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Call Number: f MS A 1412
Credit Line: Published by permission of the Houghton Library, Harvard University
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mr Graves -

I am so glad you have had the letters of which you sent me the copies[3] -

Do you think it could do me what you call 'good' to be kept before a Public like that -

Do please send me tomorrow morning the letter from the Scotsman[4] [p. 2] you promised to lend me - I will return it on Monday - but I want very much to have it tomorrow without fail -

Very truly Yours

J McNeill Whistler

Send the letter to the following address
"The Vale".
Kings Road. Chelsea
by Paulton Square


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [c. 8 October 1884]
This letter probably comes soon after the two copies mentioned; see note below.

2.  Henry Graves
Henry Graves (1806-1892), print dealer and founder of H. Graves and Co. [more].

3.  copies
G. R. Halkett to The Scotsman, 3 October 1884 (#11748), and W. Hole to The Scotsman, 6 October 1884 (#11749). The subject was the possible acquisition of Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137) for a Scottish National Portrait Gallery.

4.  letter from the Scotsman
Not traced.