The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: White House, lease
Record 43 of 44

System Number: 10873
Date: [18 July 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Sydney Morse[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 14/1241/1
Document Type: TLc

Dear Mr. Morse -

I am awfully remiss in answering your letter I know, and apologize and trust that Mrs. Morse[3] will believe that I sincerely regret any delay there is in the house[4].

But my battle with the Board[5] is only just won - and the work had been previously stopped entirely - so that though they are now pushing on as fast as possible I fear they may still be a couple of weeks. I am so sorry - Perhaps however I may be able to get out[6] of here by the end of next week or at any rate in the first days of the next.

I shall do my best

With kindest regards
Very sincerely yours

J. McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [18 July 1878]
A note on the top of this letter copy reads: 'Postmark: July 18. 78.'

2.  Sydney Morse
Sydney Morse (1854-1929), solicitor [more]. He succeeded JW as tenant of 96 Cheyne Walk and was waiting to move in.

3.  Mrs. Morse
Juliet Mary Morse (1853-1937), née Taylor, wife of Sydney Morse [more].

4.  house
This letter relates to the White House, JW's studio house at Tite Street, then under construction. The London Metropolitan Board of Works objected to the austere facade of the original design by Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more], and withheld the lease on the land until the changes were made. Without a lease, the release of funds to complete the work was delayed, along with JW's move from 96 Cheyne Walk.

5.  Board
That is, the London Metropolitan Board of Works.

6.  get out
JW was living in the White House by the end of July (see JW to C. A. Howell, #02789).