UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: oil painting, sale
Record 13 of 334

System Number: 10750
Date: [3/10 February 1878?][1]
Author: Walter Theodore Watts-Dunton[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: JW
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 3/24/3
Document Type: ALS


Thanks for your note[3]; but I am booked, I find, for Thursday. I shall be out indeed till Monday night. I find it difficult to answer the letter you speak of - taking [p. 2] as I now do, so widely different a view from yours of the moral leanings of that matter. Nevertheless, I shall answer it

Yours truly

W. Theodore Watts

J. N. [sic] Whistler Esqre


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [3/10 February 1878?]
Social correspondence between JW and Watts starts c. 1876 (see #07365 et seq.) but most correspondence dates from 1878 and the next decade (#07369 et seq.). The formal tone of this letter suggests that it marks a serious difference of opinion. The occasion may have been JW's failure to deliver paintings commissioned by Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more], as discussed in JW's letter to Watts of 2 February 1878 (#09577); this letter was possibly written within a week of that note.

2.  Walter Theodore Watts-Dunton
Walter Theodore Watts (later Watts-Dunton) (1832-1914), solicitor, novelist and poet [more].

3.  note
Not identified.