The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: health (JW)
Record 148 of 172

System Number: 10656
Date: 21 November [1901][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: William Rickman Farquhar[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/34/20
Document Type: ALS[3]

No, my dear Farquhar, no one of all these letters you tell me of - with, or without stamp, has ever come to me! - either in France or England! -

And this is odd - even for the Post Office of either Country! -

And now, at last that [p. 2] I get your kind & charming invitation for Saturday, I cannot come!

This last month of "British" fog has nearly destroyed me - and the doctor has ordered [me] off to the Gulf Stream coast of Cornwall, directly - and meanwhile I am occupied getting rid of the bit of cough still left! -

I am awfully sorry as you may well suppose, for not only would I have been delighted to see you both, again - but I should have heard, from you, more of Bullar[4]!! - and the rest . . .

You have been dining too with an American lawyer[5] in Paris - so that rumours of your approach had been heard in the Kopje! -

With many regrets then, for the moment, & kindest regards to you both[6]
Always Sincerely

J. McNeill Whistler.

8 Fitzroy Street

Nov. 21.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  21 November [1901]
In reply to Farquhar's letter of 18 November 1901, #01096. The 21st was a Thursday.

2.  William Rickman Farquhar
William Richman Farquhar (m. 1897), husband of Marion Farquhar [more].

3.  ALS
Written on narrow bordered mourning paper.

4.  Bullar
Possibly a reference to General Sir Redvers Buller (1839-1908), British army commander [more]. Buller had at one stage commanded the British forces in South Africa, but after his return to Britain he was removed from his subsequent command, of the 1st army corps, on 21 October 1901.

5.  American lawyer

6.  both
Farquhar and his wife, Marion Farquhar (b. ca 1872, m. 1897), née Peck [more]. JW painted a portrait of her, Portrait of Miss Marion Peck (YMSM 439), begun in March 1895 but never completed.