The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Browse Subjects > Document Display

return to search results

Documents associated with: furniture
Record 18 of 46

System Number: 10525
Date: [4 October 1888][1]
Author: JW
Place: [Paris][2]
Recipient: Charles James Whistler Hanson[3]
Place: London
Repository: Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York
Call Number: Library and Archives, Waller, Dan'lson 1924/2
Document Type: TLc

[...] I suppose you have lots to tell me - about Mr. Dickens[4] [...] and your interview with Morley[5]. Now I want you to go to the Express Office in the Fulham Road - William[6] knows where it is and its proper name - and say that Mr. Whistler has never heard anything more of the furniture and things they sent over to Paris. He wishes therefore to know whether they have news of their safe arrival [...] Don't say anything about my being here, only let them understand that you as Secretary ask this in ordinary course of your duties. Say to Miss Ethel[7] that we are both[8] very well and send our love [...] I hope you have forgotten nothing.

J. McN. Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [4 October 1888]
Dated on typescript ('October 4, 1888'), possibly from a postmark; the letter is described as coming with an envelope, although no details of this are given.

2.  [Paris]
The typed heading states that this letter came from 'Hotel du Helder, Rue du Helder, Paris'.

3.  Charles James Whistler Hanson
Charles James Whistler Hanson (1870-1935), engineer, son of JW and Louisa Fanny Hanson [more].

4.  Mr. Dickens
Dickens, possibly a tradesman, printer or journalist.

5.  Morley
Charles Morley (1853-1916), journalist at the Pall Mall Gazette [more].

6.  William
William Bell, JW's secretary [more].

7.  Miss Ethel
Ethel Whibley (1861-1920), née Philip, JW's sister-in-law [more].

8.  both
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].