UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 13593
Date: [October 1892][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: Paris
Recipient: Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac[3]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris
Call Number: Nouv. Acq. Fr. 15335, f. 68, nos. 55-56
Document Type: ALS[4]


Hôtel du Bon La Fontaine.
16 Rue de Grenelle.

My dear Monsieur de Montesquiou,

I cannot tell you how pleased I am with the wonderful bed[5] - !, and how difficult it is for me to thank you enough for it - !

It is so beautiful that the room in which it is going to be placed, will really, I believe - have to be begun all over again - to make it at all worthy of it.

Since the day I first saw it at your home, it has been my dreame [sic], to some day find one something like it, and I have seen several - but nothing to equal it, and I, at last, made up my mind that I should have to wait a long time before I found it, and now - it has come! straight from fairyland!

We hope we will be able soon to ask you to come and see our new - Chelsea[6].

Jimmy is getting better, and sends you many messages -

With kindest regards and many many thanks for the wonderful swans[7].

Believe me
Very sincerely yours -

Beatrix Whistler -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [October 1892]
Dated by the sequence of correspondence, and by the address; the Whistlers moved into 110 rue du Bac much later than expected, probably in November.

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac
Comte Robert de Montesquiou-Fezensac (1855-1921), Symbolist writer and poet, and collector [more]. See his letters to Beatrix and JW, #04153, #04132; and JW's letters to Montesquiou, #09298 and #13623.

4.  ALS
Published in Newton, Joy, La Chauve-Souris et le Papillon. Correspondance Montesquiou-Whistler, Glasgow, 1990, no. 105, pp. 196-98.

5.  bed
An Empire bed, said to have belonged to Napoleon, which is now in the Victoria and Albert Museum; reproduced in Newton, op. cit., fig. XII.

6.  Chelsea
The house at 110 rue du Bac.

7.  swans
This word was give as illegible in Newton, but transcribed as 'swans' in a copy of the original, #03261. It presumably refers to the swan neck curve of the ends of the Empire bed.