The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 13259
Date: [20/30 July 1890][1]
Author: Beatrix Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Recipient: Edward W. Hooper[3]
Place: [London?]
Repository: Glasgow University Library
Call Number: MS Whistler M262
Document Type: ALdf

Dear Mr Hooper

The truth about the picture[4] is that it really would be much better if Miss Hooper[5] the picture were [sic] not to be touched to day at all - Jimmie has such a horror of being an infliction that I believe he would almost let you go away rather than weary Miss interfear than weary Miss Hooper and interfere with your plans - You have shown such sympathy [p. 2] with the work - that I am that of course you will understand that it would be worse than folly that what is so near its completeness as a beautiful thing
You be a treated as a task -

In short he cannot finds tou[ch] he cannot touch the head with any pleasure or safety today - because the paint around it is neither wet or dry, and he I am [...]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [20/30 July 1890]
This is the incomplete draft of a letter written in pencil on the verso of a letter from H. Mansfield sent from New York on 12 July 1890 (#03991).

2.  Beatrix Whistler
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

3.  Edward W. Hooper
Edward William Hooper (1839-1901), collector [more].

4.  picture
Portrait of Ellen Sturgis Hooper (YMSM 391).

5.  Miss Hooper
Ellen Sturgis Hooper (b. ca 1873), later Mrs John Briggs Potter [more].