The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 13140
Date: 29 June [1859][1]
Author: Frances Seymour Haden [2]
Place: London
Recipient: Auguste Delâtre[3]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: New York Public Library, New York
Call Number: Sir Francis Seymour Haden. Letters
Credit Line: Sir Francis Seymour Haden. Letters / Manuscripts and Archives Division / The New York Public Library / Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations
Document Type: ALS

62 Sloane Street

29 Juin

Mon cher Monsr. Delatre

Mons. Fantin[4] (qui j'espere a l'intention de venir nous voir) passeras [sic] chez vous demander renseignements sur la route de Newhaven - et pour se charger des eaux fortes que vous avez pour nous. Ainsi donc, aussitot que l'arrivée de cette lettre, ayez la bonté de me faire emballer -

1. La tirage[5] de 50 livraisons, -
2. Les vingt impressions de ma maison de campagne -[6]
3. Toutes les plaques que vous avez à nous - c'est à dire -

Les eaux fortes publiées[7] - 13
La longue planche [8]( à moi) 1
La dame lisant[9]. 1
Le chien[10] ------ 1
Petit interieure de Montmartre[11] 1
Annie assise[12] ------ 1
Votre portrait[13] (barbe effacée) 1
Le verre[14] à vin ------ 1
La pointe seche d'une femme à la fenetre[15] - 1
En tous ---- 21


4. aussi tirez nous 12 impressions de chaqu'une de ces planches excepter [sic] la pointe seche de Whistler[16]. Sur le papier verger - volant - avec une marge.

5. aussi envoyez moi autant du papier verger d'une bonne qualité et couleur que vous puissez me procurer.

6. un peu de ce beau noire que vous m'avez promis.

7. La note des depenses que vous avez eu la bonté de faire pour nous - afin que je pourra vous envoyez l'argent de suite

Nous voulons les planches seulement parceque, ayant fait plusieurs autres, nous voudrions conserver tout ensemble - et parceque nous esperions plus tard vous tenter venir les imprimer. ici. Whistler travail [sic] bien. Entre nous nous projettons 4 livraisons de 12 pl. chacque des vues prises sur la Tamise de la source jusqu'à la mer[17].

Cela fera 48 planches assez interessantes car notre riviere est vraiement drole.

Avec moi il desire beaucoup de choses de sa part - à vous et à Madame[18] - et vos chers enfans-

Seymour Haden

This document is protected by copyright.


My dear Mons. Delatre

Mons. Fantin (who I hope has the intention of coming to see us) will call on you to ask for information on the route via Newhaven - and to take care of the etchings which you have for us. Please therefore, as soon as this letter arrives, be good enough to pack up for me -

1. The printing of 50 portfolios
2. The twenty impressions of my house in the country
3. All the plates of ours that you have - that is to say

The published etchings - 13
The long plate (mine) 1
The lady reading. 1
The dog ------ 1
Little interior of Montmartre 1
Annie seated ------ 1
Your portrait (beard removed) 1
The wine glass ------ 1
Drypoint of a woman at the window - 1
Altogether ---- 21


4. Also print for us 12 impressions of each of these plates except Whistler's drypoint. On laid paper - loose - with a margin.

5. Also send me as much laid paper of good quality and colour as you can obtain for me.

6. Some of the fine black that you have promised me.

7. A note of the payments that you have been kind enough to make for us - so that I may send you the money immediately

We wish to have the plates only because, having made numbers of others, we should like to keep everything together - and because we hope later to tempt you to come and print them. here. Whistler is working well. Between us we are planning 4 portfolios each of 12 pl. of views of the Thames from its source to the sea.

That will make 48 rather interesting plates as our river is really beguiling.

Together with me he sends you greetings - to you and to Madame - and your dear children -


1.  29 June [1859]
This letter is closely related to two other letters. both written to Henri Fantin-Latour on 29 June 1859, one from Haden (#08049) and the other from JW (#08050). Lochnan, who published this letter in full, dated it 1863 (Lochnan, Katharine A., The Etchings of James McNeill Whistler, New Haven and London, 1984, p. 296, n. 18) but this does not appear to fit all the references in the letter. For instance, Fantin did not visit London in June/July 1863; his subsequent visit was to JW was in July 1864 (see JW to C. P. E. Edwards, 13 July 1864, #03200). Furthermore, it has been pointed out most of the prints named in the letter date from 1859 or earlier, and that the relationship between JW and Haden deteriorated over subsequent years, making the joint project mentioned in the letter ('la Tamise de la source jusqu'à la mer') unlikely to have been considered in 1863 (private communication, Professor D. Sutherland, 30 May 2006).

2.  Frances Seymour Haden
Francis Seymour Haden (1818-1910), surgeon and etcher, JW's brother-in-law [more].

3.  Auguste Delatre
Auguste Delâtre (1822-1907), printer [more].

4.  Fantin
Ignace-Henri-Jean-Théodore Fantin-Latour (1836-1904), artist [more].

5.  tirage
It is not clear if this was by Haden or Whistler. Lochnan suggested that the 'tirage' might have been Haden's Francis Seymour Haden, Egham Lock, (z94), which was published for the Gazette des Beaux Arts, 1864, p. 358 (Lochnan, Katharine A., The Etchings of James McNeill Whistler, New Haven and London, 1984, p. 296, n. 18).

6.  ma maison de campagne.
Possibly Francis Seymour Haden, Mytton Hall (S.19) (z95), dating from 1859, which was included in a set of twenty-five etchings by Haden, Etudes à l'eau forte (Paris, 1865-66). The set was published by Philippe Burty in an edition of 180, rather than the 250 originally planned.

7.  eaux fortes publiées
Whistler's 'French Set' comprised some etchings done in London (K.9-10), some in Paris (K.11, 13-15), and an important group etched during a trip to Alsace and the Rhineland in the autumn of 1858 (K.16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 24). It was proofed by Delâtre, in Paris, and published as Twelve Etchings from Nature, 1858 (the 'French Set', K.9-11, 13-17, 19, 21, 22, 24). (excat 3) in London in 1858, with the help of Francis Seymour Haden (1818-1910), surgeon and etcher, JW's brother-in-law [more], to whom it was dedicated (K.25).

8.  longue planche
Haden made a number of 'long plates', e.g. Francis Seymour Haden, Out of Study Window (S.17) (z96), 108 x 259 mm, and Francis Seymour Haden, Whistler's House, Old Chelsea (S.50) (z97), 175 x 334 mm, which were published in 1865-6 (see above).

9.  dame lisant
Reading in Bed (K.28) or Reading by Lamplight (K.32).

10.  chien
The Dog in the Kennel (K.18).

11.  interieure de Montmartre
Probably The Rag Gatherers (K.23), but possibly Soupe à trois sous (K.49).

12.  Annie assise
Annie, Seated (K.30).

13.  portrait
Auguste Delàtre (K.26).

14.  verre
The Wine Glass (K.27).

15.  femme à la fenetre
Possibly Finette (K.58).

16.  Whistler
He probably means Finette, mentioned above as a drypoint, although the sentence is rather ambivalent and could mean a portrait of Whistler himself, Portrait of Whistler (K.54).

17.  la Tamise de la source jusqu'à la mer
This collaborative project never materialised, despite the number of Thames subjects by both Haden and Whistler. The relationship between the brothers-in-law was increasingly strained and Burty provided Haden with alternative opportunities to publish his work (Lochnan, Katharine A., The Etchings of James McNeill Whistler, New Haven and London, 1984, pp. 140, 143).

18.  Madame
Mme Delâtre, wife of Auguste Delâtre.