The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12803
Date: 17 May [1887][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Arthur Melville[2]
Place: [Edinburgh]
Repository: Private collection
Document Type: ALS


Dear Mr. Melville -

At the risk of wearying both you & myself I must write again[3] to ask about the little pictures and drawings I sent you -

You see you may have answered my notes & telegrams, and your letters may have been lost in the pit of the Post office -

Since you wired to say that you had [p. 2] received the paintings all right enough, and that a letter was to follow, I have received absolutely nothing -

Upon my return from Paris I wired to you again begging you to write - but have heard nothing -

I am sorry beyond measure to trouble you - but I am really anxious about the pictures - also I might make use of them if they were in town -

Kindly send me a line and forgive

Very sincerely Yrs

J McNeill Whistler -

454. Fulham Road -

May 17.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  17 May [1887]
Dated from the address and reference to paintings; see JW's earlier letter to Melville, #13475, and JW's letter to D.C. Thomson regarding the sending of works to Melville, #08364.

2.  Arthur Melville
Arthur Melville (1855-1905), watercolour painter [more]. This document was passed, for some reason, to Theodore Roussel (1847-1926), painter and print-maker [more], who was a close friend and supporter of JW, and fellow member of the Society of British Artists, at this time (private collection records).

3.  again
JW had written to Melville some time earlier when sending him a number of works. The identity of the works, and the dating of the letters, is fully discussed in #13475.