The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12712
Date: 1 January 1869
Author: Charles Samuel Keene[1]
Place: Witley, Godalming
Recipient: Edwin Edwards[2]
Place: Penberth Cove
Repository: Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
Call Number: Sir Herbert Thompson Gift, 1920, Keene Letters 33
Document Type: ALS

From Tigbourne Cottage
Witley near Godalming

New Years Day 1869.

Dear Master [...]

[p. 5] [...] I went to see Jemmy's pictures[3], the day before I came down. I tried to persuade him to drive at 'em, I don't believe he'll finish em till he does, so I told him he may as well do it now I hope he will, [...]

Ever yours sincerely

Charles S. Keene

This document is protected by copyright.


E. Edwards Esq.
Penberth Cottage
Penberth Cove
[Gt. Becryan?]
Nr Penzance
[stamp removed]
[postmark:] LONDON W / XA / JA 9 / 69
[postmark on verso:] PENZANCE / B / JA 10 / 69


1.  Charles Samuel Keene
Charles Samuel Keene (1823-1891), etcher, cartoonist and illustrator [more]. Only the section of this letter relating to JW has been transcribed.

2.  Edwin Edwards
Edwin Edwards (1823-1879), lawyer, painter and etcher [more].

3.  Jemmy's pictures
Probably pictures from the 'The Six Projects' (YMSM 82-87) (excat 11). JW worked on Symphony in White, No. 3 (YMSM 61) in the studio of Frederick Jameson (1839-1916), architect and musician [more], at 62 Great Russell Street in the spring of 1868 and then on The Three Girls (YMSM 88) in December.