UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12323
Date: 18 January 1871
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: Speke Hall[2]
Recipient: Walter or Henry Greaves[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Tate Gallery Archives
Call Number: Marchant Collection, TGA 8314/1/3/31
Document Type: ALS


Speke Hall

Jan 18th 1871

My dear Mr Greaves,

Immediately upon my Son's[4] receiving your letter here, I should have written our united expression of sympathy for you & your family in the loss of your Father[5] who was so friendly always towards us. but that illness under this roof has quite occupied my time until now the anxiety is over, I lose not a day in telling you how greatly we were shocked by tidings so unexpected as your bereavement[,] I have myself experienced so many afflictions I pity those who meet them for the first time. Religion only can console or reconcile us to such loss, which in this transitory world can never be restored, but we are taught by our compassionate Saviour to weep with those who weep as readily as to rejoice with those who do rejoice, and so my Son has waited for me to assure you he feels that he owes you the expression of both, in the [p. 2] events which have occurred since his absence from Chelsea[,] he therefore hopes his best wishes for a happy New Year may be combined with thanks for your token of remembering him at the bridal of your Sister[6], the wedding cake directed to him, so carefully kept til he should on his return home acknowledge your neighbourly attention, which is gratifying & flattering to us, he begs me to assure you of his kind regard,

Believe me dear Mr Greaves
Truly Yours

Anna M Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  Speke Hall
The residence of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more] at Liverpool.

3.  Walter or Henry Greaves
Walter Greaves (1846-1930), or his brother Henry Greaves (1843-1904), boatmen and painters. They were neighbours of AMW at 9 Lindsey Row; see PO London Directory, 1869, p. 401.

4.  Son's
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

5.  Father
Charles William Greaves (1837-1870), of Greaves and Son, boat-builder and waterman [more].

6.  Sister
Alice ('Tinnie') Fay Greaves (b. 1852), model [more]. JW made many drawings of her; see A lady standing: Tinnie Greaves (M.420).