The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12219
Date: 30 June [1870][1]
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[2]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 21
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsey Row Chelsea

Thursday June 30th '1870'

My dear Mr Rose

By the desire of Jemie[4] I write his request to you, that you will read the notice he sends to Mr Berry[5] the Agent of these houses, as he is told this is the last day on which he may state for this year his intention to give up this house on 25th Decr. If you find it according to the English law Mr Hadderly[6] the bearer will kindly deliver it for Mr Berry this morning. Unless you think it better to send it officially by one of your own Clerks, in which case you will essentially oblige Jemie by despatching it . If however you

The original lease for three years having expired last Christmas, Jemie [p. 2] understands that he is simply a Tenant at will & is consequently obliged to give six months notice in the ordinary way & that unless this be done today he would be unable to do it till next June, With my kindest regards to you and mine particularly to Mrs Rose[7]

I am very truly yours

Anna M Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  30 June [1870]
The year was added in another hand on p. 1.

2.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

3.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

4.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

5.  Mr Berry
George Berry (fl. 1860-1885), of George Berry and Sons, auctioneers and estate agents. His address was 8A Motcomb Street, London SW. See PO London Directory, 1870, p. 1397, and JW to G. Berry, 30 June 1870, #11838.

6.  Mr Hadderly
Hadderly, a clerk.

7.  Mrs Rose
Emily Winter Rose (b. ca 1825), wife of J. A. Rose [more].