UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12216
Date: 14 June 1867
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 21
Document Type: ALS


'2'

2 Lindsey Row. Old Chelsea

Friday June 14th 1867

My dear Mr Rose

As I heard Mr Rossetti[3] mention last evening your return to London I hope this may find you disengaged, that I may have the pleasure of seeing you here this evening, to dine with us at seven oclock. I shall be less occupied today than on Monday, when I may be fatigued by travelling from the country that morning & from packing[4] my trunks thro that day.

The little business matter I must arrange before leaving London is merely to be in a few lines, a sort of temporary Will[5] in case of my not living to make one properly, after I shall have been to the U S to settle my affairs there.

In great haste
Yours truly

Anna M Whistler.

[p. 2] '7a'[6]

14 June 1867

Instr[ucti]ons for
Will of
Mrs A M Whistler

J Anderson Rose
11 Salisbury St
Strand

[two illegible words]
14 June 1867


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  Mr Rossetti
Probably Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882), artist and poet [more].

4.  packing
AMW moved to London in 1863 to live with JW. However, she spent the summer of 1867 in America visiting family and friends. She arrived in New York on 2 July in the Steamer Java (see Boston Daily Journal, 3 July 1867, vol. XXXI, no. 10,616).

5.  Will
Her will was dated 17 June 1867 (#11979).

6.  7
This sheet is a cover for the letter, numbered in another hand by Rose or his clerk.