The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12214
Date: 13 June 1867
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 21
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsey Row. Old Chelsea

Thursday June 13th 67

My dear Mr Rose

I am very anxious to talk with you & have your opinions and aid upon a business question[3] important to me & affecting my sons future. Willie[4] the Doctor called with me at your office on tuesday, not only for this transaction, but to invite you to dine with us three, we understood you were expected from Paris by [the] end of this week. As I must go to Essex on Saturday, will you come to our 7 oclock dinner next Monday. Jemies[5] regards & hopes you will. I expect to start en route[6] for Liverpool next tuesday by 11-20 train. Should you be engaged for Monday, perhaps you will let us know by return post, where & when I could meet you.

Yours very truly

Anna M Whistler.

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  business question
AMW was about to make a will (#11979).

4.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

5.  Jemies
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

6.  start en route
AMW was about to leave for America, where she would spend the summer visiting family and friends. She arrived in New York on 2 July 1867 on the Steamer Java. See Boston Daily Journal, 3 July 1867, vol. XXXIV, no. 10,616.