The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12213
Date: 6 February 1875
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 21
Document Type: ALS

2 Lindsay Houses Chelsea

Saturday Feb. 6th 1875

Dear Mr Rose,

Jemie[3] is yet at Speke Hall[4] & he telegraphed yesterday to his brother. I enclose it, as Willie[5] is confined to bed here, and therefore cannot call either at your office or Mr Galsworthy's[6] today, but sends by post to you both, that the Agreement & papers[7] may be delivered as early as Monday as possible. Willie will call & explain the matter to you, as soon as he can. Our united regards & best wishes.

Believe me dear Mr Rose
Yours most sincerely

Anna M Whistler

My love to Mrs Rose[8], with the hope that you are both well. I have suffered severely from an attack of cold, but am recovered.

'Mrs Whistler 6 Febry 1875[9]'

This document is protected by copyright.


James Anderson Rose Esq.
11 Salisbury St

If absent: will Mr Thomas[10] please open

[postmark:] LONDON / 75 / 5 / FE6
[postmark on verso:] LONDON WO / 75 / KO / FE6


1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  Jemie
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

4.  Speke Hall
Speke Hall was the Elizabethan mansion near Liverpool of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more]; see AMW to James H. Gamble, 7-10 September 1870, #06545.

5.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more]. JW telegraphed William McNeill Whistler on 5 February requesting him to collect the papers from Galsworthy and give them to Rose (see JW to W. McN. Whistler, #11446). However W. McN. Whistler was ill with influenza and thus AMW took charge of the correspondence; see #11448, #12143.

6.  Mr Galsworthy's
Frederick Thomas Galsworthy (1827-1917), surveyor and land agent [more]. Galsworthy & Chinnock, auctioneers, land agents & surveyors, 11 Waterloo place, Pall Mall, SW; see PO Directory, 1875, p. 921.

7.  Agreement & papers
This relates to JW's dispute with Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more], over the Flemish Gallery, which JW had leased from Griffith for a year in January 1874 for his first one man show Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874. On 29 January 1875, whilst JW was in Liverpool, Griffith took legal proceedings against him, claiming back rent and costs of repair to the gallery (E. C. Griffith to JW, #12140). See also other correspondence between JW and E. C. Griffith from 20 to 30 January 1875 (#01603, #11441, #11442, #11444, #11445, #12145, #12148, #12154, #12165).

8.  Mrs Rose
Emily Winter Rose (b. ca 1825), wife of J. A. Rose [more].

9.  Mrs Whistler 6 Febry 1875
Written at upper left side of p. 2, in another hand.

10.  Mr Thomas
Ralph Thomas, Jr (b. 1840/1841), author of the first catalogue of JW's etchings, partner of J. A. Rose, JW's solicitor [more].