UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12172
Date: 19 March 1875
Author: James Anderson Rose[1]
Place: [London]
Recipient: [unknown]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: MsDfd[2]


19 March 1875

Some time the beginning of Feby 3 1875 Walter Slater[3] 2 Lindsey House Carpenter was at the Gallery[4] with Mr Fox[5][,] they went there to rehang the cloth & do what was necessary - Mr Fox had 2 other men coming up to assist when they found workmen already in there with trussels[6] & boards getting ready to redecorate the Gallery

When they saw they could not get on with the hanging they Mr Fox asked Mr Lamb[7] - (the Man in the house minding the Chambers) to fetch Mr Griffith[8] but Mr Griffith sent word either that he could not or he would not come - & then Lamb went & fetched Mr White Fox[9] [as?] he had come to hang the cloth & White said well you see you can't do it now - For White complained about the color on the walls & s[ai]d he never saw such a color before in a Gallery & that he had written[10] to Mr Whistler to contribute £20 towards the redecorations (fol. 2) of the gallery which he himself would have sent directly if he had been in Mr Whistler's place - & he asked Mr Fox to see Mrs Whistler[11] & if she had any influence in the matter to pursuade her to send a cheque even if it was not to the amount of £20 - he did not say who she was to send the cheque to -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [James Anderson Rose]
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

2.  MsDfd
This is a draft statement written in an unknown hand, and is probably incomplete; it is attached to #12173. '96' was written in another hand at the top left corner of fol. 1 and 2, probably when related documents were collated by Rose..

3.  Walter Slater
Walter Slater, husband of JW's servant Lucy, a carpenter. JW had warned Rose on 19 March 1875 that Slater would call to make a statement on the following day (#11450).

4.  Gallery
A reference to JW's dispute with Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more], over the Flemish Gallery which JW had leased from Griffith for a year in January 1874 in order to show his works (Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874). The dispute centred on JW's decision to redecorate the interior of the gallery. Griffith maintained that JW was liable for the reinstatement of the entire original decorative scheme (E. C. Griffith to JW, #12154). However, JW would only accept liability for the rehanging of the maroon cloth (#11442). On 29 January 1875 Griffith took legal proceedings against him, claiming back rent and costs of repair to the gallery (E. C. Griffith to JW, #12140). See also other correspondence between JW and E. C. Griffith between 20 and 30 January 1875 (#01603, #11441, #11442, #11444, #11445, #12145, #12148, #12154, #12165).

5.  Mr Fox
Frederick Fox, frame-maker and decorator [more].

6.  trussels
A trussell is a bundle or package; he probably means a trestle (also spelt tressel), which is a support or frame for a table, used for wood working and decorating.

7.  Mr Lamb
Lamb, factotum at E. C. Griffith's gallery, 48 Pall Mall.

8.  Mr Griffith
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more].

9.  Mr White Fox
Edward Fox White (b. 1825 or 1826), art dealer [more].

10.  written
See E. Fox White to JW, #11441.

11.  Mrs Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].