UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12148
Date: [23 January 1875][1]
Author: Edward Clifton Griffith[2]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: Liverpool[3]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1
Document Type: W


[telegraph form:] POST OFFICE TELEGRAPHS

OFFICE OF ORIGIN West Strand

HANDED IN AT 9.10 .M., SENT OUT AT       .M.,

[postmark:] LIVERPOOL / JA 23 / 75

From Clifton Griffith
30 St James Sq

To J. M. Whistler Esq
Speke Hall
L[iver]pool

You had no right to paint out decoration of Gallery[4] without my permission[.] if not arranged by Monday shall place matter in hands of solicitor[5]

'Whistler'[6]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [23 January 1875]
Dated from postmark.

2.  Edward Clifton Griffiths
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more].

3.  Liverpool
JW was in Liverpool where he stayed with Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more], and his family, between January and March.

4.  Gallery
The gallery was the venue for JW's first solo exhibition, Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874. While it was originally hung in maroon cloth, JW created his own decorative scheme in primrose, pink-grey and brown for his exhibition. E. C. Griffith insisted that the cloth and the original decoration be reinstated at the end of JW's lease (see E. C. Griffith to JW, #12154). JW claimed that according to the terms of his lease, he was only required to reinstate the cloth and that Griffiths' servant 'told my man Fox that the cloth was not worth rehanging - and consequently it was not done' (see JW to E. C. Griffiths, #11442).

5.  solicitor
See writ issued by John Perry Godfrey (b. 1832), solicitor for E. C. Griffith [more], on 29 January 1875, #12140.

6.  'Whistler'
Circled.