The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 12146
Date: 19 January 1874
Author: Edward Clifton Griffith[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC
Document Type: MsDS[2]

Jany. 19th. 1874

Memorandum of Agreements between
E. Clifton Griffith Esqre
J. A. MacNeill Whistler Esqr
in the matter of the Flemish Gallery[3] 48 Pall Mall

Mr. T. Hedgers
Auctioneers &c
49 Pall Mall

[p. 2] MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT made this 19th day of January one thousand eight hundred and seventy four between E. Clifton Griffith of No. 48 Pall Mall London, Gentleman of the one part and James A. MacNeill Whistler of No. 2 Lindsey Row, Old Chelsea of the other part.

As follows. The said E. Clifton Griffith hereby agrees to let and the said J. A. MacNeill Whistler agrees to take the Gallery, known as the Flemish Gallery at the rear of the Ground Floor of the house No. 48 Pall Mall for the term of one year or thereabouts commencing on the day and year first above written and terminating on the Thirty first day of December one thousand eight hundred and seventy four at the rent or sum of Three hundred and fifteen pounds (£315)[.] Such rent to be paid in four equal payments of Seventy eight pounds fifteen shillings each payment (£78-15) namely on the twenty fifth day of March, the twenty fourth day of June, the twenty ninth day of September, and on the twenty fifth day of December. The first payment of rent to become due on the twenty fifth day of March, one thousand eight hundred and seventy four. The said rent to be clear of all Rates, Taxes, and Assessments which the said E. Clifton Griffith undertakes to see paid as they become due in respect of the said premises. The said J. A. MacNeill Whistler hereby agrees not to use the said Gallery for any other purpose than for the Exhibition of Paintings or to underlet the said Gallery for any other purpose without the consent in writing of the said E. Clifton Griffith or his agent first had and obtained. The said J. A. MacNeill Whistler is to have the right of ingress and egress through the Entrance door & Passage for himself Servants and Visitors to the said Gallery during all reasonable hours of the day. But the Hall Door to be closed as an Exhibition at not later than half past six o'clock in the afternoon of each day. The said J. A. MacNeill Whistler hereby agrees to keep the Interior of the said Gallery together with the Walls and all fixtures in good [p. 3] order & condition and to leave the same in as good condition as they now are. We assume use and wear and casualties happening by fire only excepted. Lastly, that if it shall happen that the said reserved Rent in any part thereof shall be in arrears for twenty one days next after any of the days herein before appointed for payment, the same having been demanded or in case default shall be made in the observance or performance of any of the covenants or agreements hereinbefore contained on the part of the said J. A. MacNeill Whistler Then and in either of the said cases it shall be lawful for the said E. Clifton Griffith or his agent on his behalf to enter the said premises and repossess the same and the terms of this agreement shall cease and be determined.

As witness the hands of the said parties on the day & year first above written.

E. Clifton Griffith

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Clifton Griffith
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more].

2.  MsDS
'69' written in an unknown hand in the top left corner of p. 1.

3.  Flemish Gallery
The site of JW's first one man exhibition, Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874. A dispute developed with Griffith over the Flemish Gallery. On 29 January 1875 Griffith took legal proceedings against him, claiming back rent and costs of repair to the gallery (E. C. Griffith to JW, #12140). See also other correspondence between JW and E. C. Griffith between 20 and 30 January 1875 (#11441, #11442, #11444, #11445, #12145, #12148, #12154, #12165). On 5 February JW telegraphed William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], requesting him to collect the papers from Galsworthy and give them to James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more] (see JW to W. G. Whistler, #11446). However W. G. Whistler was ill with influenza and thus Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more], wrote to Galsworthy requesting him to deliver the papers to Rose directly (see A. M. Whistler to J. A. Rose, #11448).