UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11852
Date: [20 July 1870][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/47/46
Document Type: W[3]


[telegraph form:] 'Whistler [4]July 20. 1870'

POST OFFICE TELEGRAPHS

FROM J Whistler
2 Lindsey Row
TO James Anderson Rose Esq
11 Salisbury St. Std

[postmark:] SOMER[SET] B. O. / JY 20 / 70 / W. C.

Have not heard from you answer to my letter[5] of Sunday last may I hope you dine with me


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [20 July 1870]
Dated by postmark.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  W
'46' written in an unknown hand at top left of p. 1.

4.  Whistler
'Whistler ... 1870' written in another hand, probably that of J. A. Rose.

5.  letter
See JW to J. A. Rose, #11969. JW was hoping to negotiate the lease of Merton Villa, a house at 278a King's Road Chelsea. It appears that he planned to build a studio in its extensive grounds (see A. M. Whistler to J. A. Rose, #12215). He had asked Rose to act on his behalf. However, JW's efforts to secure the house were in vain. He wished to purchase the full lease (see JW to J. A. Rose, #10728) at £1500 for thirty-eight and a half years or failing that, an annual lease at £130 (#11969) but Rose was probably unable to negotiate a price he could afford. In the end, he remained at Lindsey Row until June 1878. Coincidentally, Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more], was living at Merton Villa, 280a King's Road in January 1876 (having married Edward William Godwin (1833-1886), architect and designer [more]). It was the family home of the Birnie-Philips. JW made an etching of the house, Merton Villa, Chelsea (K.277) in 1887, the year before his marriage to Beatrix. See also #08912, #10727, #11851.