UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11839
Date: [11 February 1868][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscripts Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/46/9
Document Type: ALS


'9'[3]
'recd. 11 Feby 1868'[4]

'Whistler[5]
14 Feby 1868
re Haden'

2 Lindsey Row
Old Chelsea -

Tuesday -

Dear Rose -

I shall call in at the Arundel[6] this evening after dinner on the chance of seeing you - Haden's lawyers have sent another letter[7] and I believe I see the drift of it now -

The fact is, I understand that Haden is writing another infamous pamphlet on poor old Traer[8]!! and [p. 2] possibly wishes me to produce some letter which he may print and contradict in his book! -

I understand that the gist of it is to attack the dead man as a swindler! - So that your client's affair with Wrentmore & Son is to the point. -

I was very much pleased to hear of my brother's and Mignot's election[9].

Ever Yours -

J A M Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  11 February 1868
11 February was a Tuesday, the date given by JW; the date is confirmed by the date of receipt.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  '9'
Added in another hand.

4.  'recd. 11 Feby 1868'
Added in another hand.

5.  Whistler ... Haden
In another hand. '14 February' is the date of Rose's reply, #11855.

6.  Arundel
The Arundel Club, whose premises were adjacent to Rose's premises.

7.  letter
The letter from Wrentmore and Sons dated 10 February 1868 (#11853).

8.  Traer
James Reeves Traer (ca 1834 - d.1867), partner in F. S. Haden's medical practice [more].

9.  brother's and Mignot's election
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more], and Louis Rémy Mignot (1831-1870), painter [more], who were presumably being elected to the Arundel Club.