UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11660
Date: [July 1876/July 1878][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: [Mary Montgomerie Singleton ('Violet Fane')][2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 262
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


'262'

Dear Mrs. Singleton -

I have received your note with the two guineas for Mlle. Gaetanos[4] concert - and if I am unable to be at Mrs. Leyland's[5] on Friday, I shall certainly do myself the pleasure of calling on Sunday that I may hear if "The Peacock Room[6]" has found favor in your eyes - I remind [p. 2] you of it that you may not leave in the whirl of fine music without looking at my birds!


Very sincerely yours

J A McN. Whistler.

96. Cheyne Walk Chelsea


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [July 1876/July 1878]
Dated from address.

2.  [Mary Montgomerie Singleton ('Violet Fane')]
Mary Montgomerie Lamb (1843-1905), pseudonym 'Violet Fane', writer [more].

3.  ALS
Part of this letter was published in Maggs, cat. 396, Autumn 1920, no. 2695, when the letter was for sale at £10.10.0. '262' is written in another hand.

4.  Mlle Gaetanos
'Antoinette ('Nita') Gaëtano Moncrieff (b. ca 1849), née Mackie, poetess and singer [more].

5.  Mrs. Leyland's
Frances Leyland (1836-1910), née Dawson [more].

6.  Peacock Room
Harmony in Blue and Gold: The Peacock Room (YMSM 178).