UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11654
Date: [7/14 April 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 248
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS[3]


21, CHEYNE WALK,
CHELSEA.

33. Rue du Tournon
Paris -

My dear Nellie -

How are you all? -

We[4] are simply frozen, and quite incapable of all thought and action! -

As to the American photograph[5] that was altogether impossible -

There has been nothing but East wind [p. 2] for weeks & weeks & weeks!! and nobody could be looked at under such circumstances - We called on the Winan's[6] the other day - but they were out - Dont seem to get much further - do we? -

Do write us some news - What do they all say at Holland Park[7] about the great triumph of the Exhibition[8]? It was amazing wasn't it! - And the Catalogue! It went through 4. Editions, and the people are clamouring for more!

What about Molly Jones[9]?. I think he is nailed to the same door forever - What does Mrs. Coronio[10] say? They all are most indignant & contemptuous in their line about him here -

How did Willie[11] like my letter in the World[12]?

Love to both of you from both -
Write.
Always affectly

J McN W


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [7/14 April 1892]
Dated by the reference to exhibitions (see below).

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more].

3.  ALS
'1892' was added at top left and '248' at top right of p. 1 in unknown hands.

4.  We
JW, and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

5.  American photograph
Not identified.

6.  Winan's
Neva Winans (1860-1907), née Whistler, JW's niece [more].

7.  Holland Park
The Ionides family, the Prinseps, as well as numerous artist friends and enemies of JW lived in Holland Park in the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

8.  Exhibition
Nocturnes, Marines and Chevalet Pieces, Boussod, Valadon & Cie, Goupil Gallery, London, 1892.

9.  Molly Jones
A nickname for Edward Coley Burne-Jones (1833-1898), painter and designer [more]. He was mentioned in JW's letter to E. Yates, #11430.

10.  Coronio
Aglaia Coronio (1834-1906), née Ionides, wife of George Coronio [more].

11.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

12.  World
See Whistler, James McNeill, [Letter to Atlas], The World: A Journal For Men and Women, no. 926, vol. 36, 30 March 1892, p. 22.