UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11653
Date: [28-29 January 1893][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Helen Euphrosyne Whistler[2]
Place: London
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 246
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


110. Rue du Bac - Paris.

My dear Nellie -

Have you seen the little picture since Thomson[3] has had it in Bond Street? He has made quite an Exhibition of it - and as to the papers! I don't think I ever had such a success!

Have you not seen them? - no end of cuttings have come over to us - and now they are going to reproduce the painting in the Pall Mall Budget[4] - so you must be [p. 2] on the look out for it -

Thomson writes me that there is someone nibbling already - but he is not sure of him - The price I told him to ask was £500 - out of which he was to have ten per cent -

I shall take it away from him soon, if he does not manage the business, and send it from Paris (where I should have it backed on Mahogany panel) to New York where it is sure to sell - especially [p. 3] after all the hurrah that it has made in London - It certainly has made a great stir in the place this time -

Do tell us any news you have about it - and about everything -

Have you seen the Sickerts? -

We are in the house[5] at last - and very lovely it is - The weather was awfully cold when we got back - but thank heavens! it gives way now - and today was like a warm spring morning - How are you all? -

I think I must let Trixie[6] finish this and send it off for I must run away to the studio - write us a line and send us anything [p. 4] you see about the picture - I have got the Nocturne that was Luke's[7]!!! - It is a beauty! and he was an idiot! - I wish you would find out what he gave me for it? - I think it was twenty pounds -

Sunday - 29th

This didn't get off after all - so I can just add a line to say that I've got your letter all right this morning - I suppose that Willie[8] will not join the [Simone?] faction whether or no - but of course I dont know enough about it - However I am glad that the famous paper is finished at last - I daresay it will be splendid so dont let him write it all over again!! -

It dont seem to me that you know anything at all about the great noise your picture has been making - or you would not have supposed that the little scrap you send from the Sunday Times[9] represents anything like its success -

With love from us both to all & hopes for Easter,
Always

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

Call Number: Glasgow University Library, MS Whistler W715
Mrs William McNeill Whistler
17. Wimpole Street
Cavendish Square
London.
Angleterre.
[stamp:] POSTE / REPUBLIQUE FRANCAISE / 25
[postmarks x 2:] 195 BD. ST GERMAIN / PARIS / 7E / 29 JANV 93
[postmark on verso:] LONDON / T 7 / JA 30 / 93

[on verso:] 'no: 7.[10]
Fine morning
2/4
Let it drain for 10 minutes & then pour off'



Notes:

1.  [28-29 January 1893]
Dated from postmark. In another hand at the top of page one is written '1892?'

2.  Helen Euphrosyne Whistler
Helen ('Nellie') Euphrosyne Whistler (1849-1917), née Ellen Ionides, JW's sister-in-law [more]; her letters have not been located.

3.  Thomson
David Croal Thomson (1855-1930), art dealer [more], who had tried to sell Whistler in his Studio (YMSM 63) for JW's brother and sister-in-law. He had written to JW on 23 January 1893, #05769.

4.  Pall Mall Budget
Pall Mall Budget, reference not located.

5.  house
110 Rue du Bac, which had been altered and redecorated over several months.

6.  Trixie
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

7.  Nocturne that was Luke's
Lucas ('Luke') Alexander Ionides (1837-1924), stockbroker and businessman [more], had sold Nocturne in Grey and Gold (YMSM 155) back to JW, an unidentifed painting that may possibly be Nocturne: Westminster - Grey and Gold (YMSM 144).

8.  Willie
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

9.  no: 7
These notes are in another hand.

10.  Sunday Times
Reference not located.