UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11618
Date: [10/17 September 1893?][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: William McNeill Whistler[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.
Call Number: FGA Whistler 165
Credit Line: Charles Lang Freer Papers, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.: Gift of the Estate of Charles Lang Freer
Document Type: ALS


110. Rue du Bac. Paris.

My dear Willie -

How are you? - I want you when you have an occasion to ask Dr Woakes[3] if he got my letter[4] all right -

I wrote to him ten days ago at least, a very nice little note with full directions as to the picture[5] & its varnishing - and I think he might have acknowledged it -

Then again everything is possible and [p. 2] [it] may have gone astray so you had better ask -

What about Homburg[6]? - When are you going to leave that d—— black country we have both been at loggerheads with for so many years?

With love to both of you from us both[7]

Always affectly

[butterfly signature]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [10/17 September 1893?]
Dated by reference to Homburg (see below).

2.  William McNeill Whistler
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

3.  Dr Woakes
Dr Edward G. Woakes (ca 1837 - d.1912), aural surgeon to the London Hospital [more], commissioned a portrait of his daughter, Portrait of Miss Lilian Woakes (YMSM 393). JW's letter to him has not been located.

4.  my letter
Not located.

5.  picture
Portrait of Miss Lilian Woakes (YMSM 393).

6.  Homburg
A spa town in Saarland, in the south-west of Germany, visited several times by Dr Whistler and his wife in the mid to late 1890s. There is an envelope addressed to Dr Whistler in Homburg in JW's hand, without an accompanying letter, [19 September 1893], #07012.

7.  us both
JW and Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].