The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11450
Date: [19 March 1875][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscripts Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/15
Document Type: ALS[3]

2. Lindsey Houses.
Chelsea. London -

Dear Rose -

Mrs Rose[4] who kindly called today will have told how very uncertain has been the life of our dear Mother[5], and you will be glad to know that my brother[6] has now much greater hope and that my Mother has made a marked change for the better -

The husband of Lucy[7] our servant (Slater[8]) will call on you tomorrow at about 12 - He is a carpenter or builder and went with Fox[9] to hang the cloth at the Gallery and was present during all the conversation with White and Griffiths and can depose to the exact words in which White proposed that Mr Whistler should be influenced to send a cheque even if not for the amount of £20! -

Moreover he can give some estimate of the expense of the hanging of the cloth - (£2 - he says would have done it - and one day sufficient time) - Also he can tell you that I had really done all the important work in preparing the walls when I decorated the [p. 3] Gallery myself - so that White had very little money to spend upon his work -

In great haste and with my most affectionate remembrances to yourself and Thomas[10].

Ever Yours

J A McN Whistler

This document is protected by copyright.


James Anderson Rose Esq
11 Salisbury Street
[postmark:] London SW / 7 / MR 19 / 75

[on verso:]: Slater will call after 1.o'clock - not at 12 -

[postmark on verso:]: LONDON W C / A M / MR19 / 75


1.  [18 March 1875]
Dated from postmark.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  ALS
'31' written in an unknown hand on p. 1, and '31a' on the envelope.

4.  Mrs Rose
Emily Winter Rose (b. ca 1825), wife of J. A. Rose [more].

5.  Mother
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more], was frequently ill during the early 1870s. This was her last bout of illness before she moved permanently to Hastings, Sussex on 8 August 1875, on medical advice.

6.  brother
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

7.  Lucy
Lucy Slater (b. ca 1852) , née Manning, JW's servant at 2 Lindsey Row [more].

8.  Slater
Walter Slater, husband of JW's servant Lucy, a carpenter. His affidavit is 19 March 1875, #12172. JW had rented the Flemish Gallery, a London gallery premises, from Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more], for a year from 19 January to 30 December 1874, in order to show his work. The annual rent was £315, payable in four instalments (see Memorandum of Agreement, #12146). His first solo exhibition, Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874, opened on 8 June 1874. The dispute arose when the Griffiths asked for the original decoration to be reinstated for the next tenant. He then threatened bring proceedings on 23 January 1875 if this was not done by 25 January (see E. C. Griffiths to JW, #12145, #12148). A writ was issued on 29 January claiming back rent and costs of repair to the gallery (see E. C. Griffiths to JW, #12140).

9.  Fox
Frederick Fox, frame-maker and decorator [more].

10.  Thomas
Ralph Thomas, Jr (b. 1840/1841), author of the first catalogue of JW's etchings, partner of J. A. Rose, JW's solicitor [more].