UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11448
Date: 8 February 1875
Author: Anna Matilda Whistler [1]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 21
Document Type: ALS


2 Lindsay Houses, Chelsea

Monday morning Feb 8th 1875

Dear Mr Rose

I am sorry to inform you that my Son[3] the doctor will not be able to fulfil his promise of going to you today in reference to his brothers[4] affairs, as I wrote you on Saturday he hoped to do, his attack [of] Influenza confines him to bed entirely & we fear it may for many days.

In case Jamie has not written you all the particulars of Mr Griffiths[5] resolve to prosecute[6] him & as no time should be lost can you come instead here today that Willie may give every information? I should send Mr Fox[7], who did the work at the Gallery, 48 Pall Mall, as he could tell you all about it, but he is such a martyr to Bronchitis he is always laid up in winter, he lives close by us.

I hope Mr Galsworthy[8] will have sent to your office the Agreement & all the papers connected with the renting the Gallery, as I wrote to request him to do so - at the same time I sent my note to you on Saturday, his office is near Salisbury St tho [p. 2] I have not that direction. I sent my note to his residence at Queens Gate[,] I also wrote to Jamie that he should inform you who are the Solicitors employed by Mr Griffith, he seemed to depend upon Willie's seeing you & explaining all the particulars of the case in conversation, as he would have done could he have gone to you, he is here, confined to bed.

Believe me dear Mr Rose
Sincerely Yours

Anna M Whistler.


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  Anna Matilda Whistler
Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more].

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  Son
William McNeill Whistler (1836-1900), physician, JW's brother [more].

4.  his brothers
James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903), artist [more].

5.  Mr Griffiths
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more]. His address was 8 Queens Gate.

6.  prosecute
This relates to JW's dispute with Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more], over the Flemish Gallery which JW had leased from Griffith for a year in January 1874 for his first one man show, Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874. See AMW to James Anderson Rose, 6 February 1875, #12213.

7.  Mr Fox
Frederick Fox, frame-maker and decorator [more].

8.  Mr Galsworthy
Frederick Thomas Galsworthy (1827-1917), surveyor and land agent [more]. Galsworthy & Chinnock, auctioneers, land agents & surveyors, 11 Waterloo place, Pall Mall, SW; see PO Directory, 1875, p. 921.