The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11445
Date: [20/30 January 1875][1]
Author: JW
Place: Speke Hall[2]
Recipient: Edward Clifton Griffith[3]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/40/3
Document Type: ALcS[4]

'28[5]' Copy.

Speke Hall -

Dear Sir -

I fail altogether to understand what you can mean by having through me lost a tenant in the Autumn, when my possession of the Gallery extended to the 14th. of January!

Our relations as landlord & tenant are clearly laid down in the Agreement[6] drawn up by your Agent and signed by me - this seems to me, though no business man, evident to the merest child - Otherwise the Agreement itself means nothing and is only a farce. -

Now any attempt on your part to obtain from me more than I am herein bound to perform, becomes, [p. 2] to me, simple extortion; and your appeal to what you are pleased to call "courtesies", absurd and pitiable. -

Against this sort of thing, be assured, I should defend myself to the uttermost, notwithstanding my disadvantage when compared to your superior knowledge of business. -

Meanwhile I learn that my man Fox[7] and his assistants went to the Gallery yesterday to hang the cloth and were prevented from so doing - the Gallery itself being in the hands of other work men - therefore I shall have nothing more to do with it - .

Yours truly,

J A McN. Whistler

E. Clifton Griffith Esq -

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [20/30 January 1875]
This appears to one in a sequence of letters discussing the condition of Griffith's gallery, between 20 and 30 January 1875 (#11445, #12165, #12154,#11442, #01603, ##11441, #12148, #12145, #11444).

2.  Speke Hall
JW was staying at the home of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more].

3.  Edward Clifton Griffith
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more].

4.  ALcS
This is noted as being a copy, and there is also a further copy in another hand (#12165). Both were kept by James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

5.  '28'
Written in top left corner in another hand.

6.  Agreement
Agreement for the lease of the Flemish Gallery in Pall Mall, which was the site of Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874.

7.  Fox
Frederick Fox, frame-maker and decorator [more].