The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11442
Date: 22 January 1875
Author: JW
Place: Liverpool
Recipient: Edward Clifton Griffith[1]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/40/1
Document Type: ALS


Speke Hall[3] - near Liverpool

Jany. 22. 1875.

Dear Sir -

As I telegraphed[4] to you today I don't recognise any right on your part to call upon me to repaint the Gallery[5] - My agreement[6] did not preclude me from painting it any color I liked -

I am of course bound to rehang the cloth[7] on the walls - and gave orders to this effect directly I had your letter[8] on the subject. - It appears however meanwhile your servant Mr. Lamb had [p. 2] told my man Fox[9] that the cloth was not worth rehanging - and consequently it was not done - However I have again telegraphed[10] and written to have it at once put up. -

I am not aware of any other "fixtures" beyond the cloth to be replaced - but if there are, my man will attend to it, - if Mr. Lamb[11] will point it out. -

Your claim[12] of £30! must be founded on an entire misaprehension of my liability. -

No step was taken for replacing the fixtures before my term expired because you suggested that the incoming tenant[13] might not require them any change. - Immediately I received your letter[14] (Sunday last) I took the steps I have told you of - and I therefore repudiate any claim for rent. -

Yours truly

J. A. McN. Whistler.

E. Clifton Griffiths Esq

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Clifton Griffiths
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more]. See Griffiths' reply to this letter dated 23 January, #12148. See also other correspondence between 20 and 30 January 1875 concerning the condition of the gallery (#11445, #12165, #12154, #01603, #11441, #12145, #11444).

2.  26
Written in another hand at top right-hand corner of p. 1.

3.  Speke Hall
JW stayed at the home of Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more] and his family at Speke from January to March 1875.

4.  telegraphed
Telegram not located.

5.  Gallery
The gallery was the site of Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874.

6.  agreement
See Memorandum of Agreement dated 19 January 1874, #12146.

7.  cloth
The gallery was originally hung in maroon cloth.

8.  letter

9.  Fox
Frederick Fox, frame-maker and decorator [more].

10.  again telegraphed
Telegram not located.

11.  Mr. Lamb
Lamb, factotum at E. C. Griffith's gallery, 48 Pall Mall.

12.  claim
See E. C. Griffiths to JW, #12154.

13.  incoming tenant
Edward Fox White (b. 1825 or 1826), art dealer [more]. White offered to do the work himself if JW would contribute £20 (see E. F. White to JW, #11441).

14.  your letter
Not located.