The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 11441
Date: 22 January 1875
Author: Edward Fox White[1]
Place: London
Recipient: JW
Place: [Liverpool][2]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC K5
Document Type: ALS


13 King Street, St. James

Jan 22. 1875

J. McN Whistler Esq.

Dear Sir -

I sent you a Telegram[4] to day expressing my willingness to relieve you from all trouble as to your Gallery[5] in Pall Mall & do it up myself on your contributing £20. I should prefer not doing this but for the time likely to be [p. 2] lost if your people undertake it & if more delays occur I must give up the gallery altogether[.] I have only a day more to decide one way or another having arranged for an Exh[itio]n be be [sic] ready for a certain day & having a gallery in the Haymarket offered me, I must decide for that if you decline. The fact is Ford[6] cannot fit up the cloth[7] till the painting & stencilling - and repairs to roof & walls &c &c &c are done - your decorator Mr Fox[8] is ill I hear[.] Altogether it is to your advantage as it will cost more than £20 & as far as I understand the [p. 3] matter Mr Griffith[9] can claim rent[10] up to the day of your completing repairs &c[.] You will never get it done by Feb 1st I am sure - whereas I will undertake to do it &c will in fact take the place on 1st Feby always providing I have your reply by tomorrow.

Please oblige me, and I shall be thankful, with a reply[11] by 12 tomorrow I sent a paid Messenger to day with my Telegram - no reply yet.

respectfully Yours

E. F. White

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Edward Fox White
Edward Fox White (b. 1825 or 1826), art dealer [more].

2.  [Liverpool]
JW was in Liverpool where he was staying with Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more] and his family.

3.  '67'
Written in an unknown hand at top left-hand corner of p. 1.

4.  Telegram
Not located.

5.  Gallery
The gallery was the venue for JW's first solo exhibition, Mr Whistler's Exhibition, Flemish Gallery, Pall Mall, London, 1874.

6.  Ford
Ford, possibly a servant or decorator for E. F. White.

7.  cloth
The gallery was originally hung in maroon cloth. However, JW created his own decorative scheme in primrose, pink-grey and brown for his exhibition. E. C. Griffith (see note below) required that the cloth be reinstated at the end of JW's lease (see statement of proof, #12138).

8.  Mr Fox
Frederick Fox, frame-maker and decorator [more].

9.  Mr Griffith
Capt. Edward Clifton Griffith, gallery landlord [more].

10.  rent
The rent of £315 per annum (see E. C. Griffith to JW, #12154).

11.  reply
JW did not comply with White's request (see JW to E. C. Griffith, #11444).