The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10826
Date: [29 January 1892][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Frederick Jameson[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 11/1014-5/1
Document Type: TLc



My dear Fred,

It is very nice of you to let me have the picture[3] - and I am sure you will be pleased with what I propose - The new frame will really cost very little - and the difference to the work will be immense -

I should have written at once as I intended, to thank you - but I am here at work - and Paris you know is delightful to me - Moreover the people have done me such honour - or rather, officially, the greatest honour that can be paid to a man in his life time has come to me from France - The démarches[4] made by the Government to me personally are absolutely without precedent, and are accepted as an open statement that the picture[5] goes to the Louvre eventually -

To be insulted in England and covered with honour in France! - how splendid! - For supposing it had been t'other way about - what a fool's paradise!

However - everything there is delightful, as I said, and now send up the picture at once to Cheyne Walk - My wife[6] will receive it and see to its being measured for its frame - so that there may be no time lost - I long to see the little picture again! -

[p. 2] You are wrong about the Carlyle[7], you know - That also goes out of England -

Don't be at all afraid of my touching the picture - I am not dreaming of such a thing - I shall only have it cleaned and varnished beautifully -

With kindest regards to your wife[8],
Always, my dear Fred,

[butterfly signature]

This document is protected by copyright.


[postmark:] 29th Jan - / 92


1.  29 January 1892
Dated from the postmark recorded by the copyist. JW had already written to Jameson, [14 January 1892], #10825.

2.  Frederick Jameson
Frederick Jameson (1839-1916), architect and musician [more].

3.  picture
Crepuscule in Opal: Trouville (YMSM 67).

4.  démarches
Fr., approaches.

5.  picture
Arrangement in Grey and Black: Portrait of the Painter's Mother (YMSM 101) was acquired for the Musée du Luxembourg in November 1891.

6.  wife
Beatrix Whistler (1857-1896), née Beatrice Philip, artist [more].

7.  wife
Ellen Jameson (b. ca 1846), wife of the architect, F. Jameson [more].

8.  Carlyle
Arrangement in Grey and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle (YMSM 137) had been sold to the Corporation of Glasgow in Scotland in April 1891.