The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10731
Date: 23 March 1866
Author: Joanna Hiffernan[1]
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: London
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/47/48
Document Type: ALS


14 Walham Grove

March the 23rd

Dear Sir,

I saw Mr Swift[4] to day and he wishes me to pay Mr Keene[5] the Landlord of 7. Lindsey Row for the doing up of the house therefore I will send you a check for the £10. on Tuesday which you will kindly pay for me,

Very sincerely,

Joanna Hiffernan

To J. Anderson Rose

[p. 2] 'Hiffernan[6] 23 March 66

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  Joanna Hiffernan
Joanna Hiffernan (b. ca 1843), JW's model and mistress [more]. She moved to this lodging address at Walham Grove in 1863, after the arrival of Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more], at 7 Lindsey Row to live with JW. JW was in Valparaiso, Chile where he would spend the next eight months as a bystander to the Chilean-Peruvian conflict with the Spanish government. He began his return on 1 September.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  '48'
Written in the upper left-hand corner in another hand; related legal documents were numbered, possibly by Rose's clerk.

4.  Mr Swift
Swift, unidentified.

5.  Mr Keene
Isaac Henry Keene, builder, landlord of 7 Lindsey Row [more]. See also preceding letter, #11844.

6.  Hiffernan ... Whistler
Written in another hand.