The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10727
Date: [25 July 1870][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: James Anderson Rose[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscripts Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/46/22
Document Type: ALS[3]

2 Lindsey Row -
Chelsea -


Dear Rose -

I am really very anxious to get that house (Merton Villa[4]) and if they will not let it for less, we must take it for the 130 per. an. they ask -

However try and get it for me at the best bargain possible - and I doubt not they will do all that is necessary in the way of putting anything in order that may require it - as [p. 2] for instance the fencing or pailing [sic] -

I had scarcely a chance to thank you the other day as I wished to for the kind way in which you with all your occupations came to see me - but I know you will understand how grateful I really felt although the engagement I had previously made with Leyland[5] took me away from you. [p. 3]

Believe me my dear Rose with many thanks
Ever Yours sincerely

J A McN Whistler

[p. 4]'Whistler - No date'[6]

This document is protected by copyright.


1.  [25 July 1870]
Dated from almanac and JW to J. A. Rose, #11969, #11852 and #10728.

2.  James Anderson Rose
James Anderson Rose (1819-1890), solicitor [more].

3.  ALS
'23' written in an unknown hand at top left corner of p. 1.

4.  Merton Villa
The house was at 278a, King's Road, Chelsea (see JW to J. A. Rose, #11969). It appears that he planned to build a studio in its extensive grounds (see A. M. Whistler to J. A. Rose, #12215). However, negotiations to rent the house were unsuccessful and JW remained at Lindsey Row until June 1878. See also #08912, #10728, #11851, #11852.

5.  Leyland
Frederick Richards Leyland (1832-1892), ship-owner and art collector [more]. Leyland had been JW's patron for several years and had commissioned him to paint his family (see YMSM 95-7, 106-11; M.425-6 ). JW was about to start work on Arrangement in Black: Portrait of F. R. Leyland (YMSM 97) at Speke Hall, Leyland's home near Liverpool. As Anna Matilda Whistler (1804-1881), née McNeill, JW's mother [more] explained, he was 'there to paint a full length life size portrait of Mr. Leyland, which he writes me is getting on capitally' (see A. M. Whistler to James Gamble, #06545).

6.  'Whistler - No date'
Inscription, probably in Rose's hand.