UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10689
Date: [16 May 1881][1]
Author: JW
Place: [London]
Recipient: Walter Buckler Lethbridge[2]
Place: [London]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 2/15/3
Document Type: AL[S]


'16/5/81'

Dear Lethbridge -

If I were going to Venice again I think I should put up at the Hotel Britannia on the grand Canal close to the Piazza - and pretty good food - Also almost next door to the Bronsons[3].

I hope you will have a charming time and tell us all the news when you come back -

You would have heard from me before only your note[4] got mislaid and I am so lucky at last to have found it again - for I could not remember your address -

[signature[5]]


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  [16 May 1881]
Date written in pencil in another hand in upper left-hand corner of sheet.

2.  Walter Buckler Lethbridge
Walter Buckler Lethbridge (b. ca 1825), barrister [more].

3.  Bronsons
Arthur Bronson and Katherine Coleman Bronson (1834-1901), née De Kay [more]. The Bronsons lived at the Ca' Alvisi, a modest palace which overlooked the Grand Canal opposite Santa Maria della Salute. They provided frequent hospitality during JW's time in Venice (see Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Life of James McNeill Whistler, 2 vols, London and Philadelphia, 1908, I, p. 273).

4.  your note
Untraced.

5.  signature
A note on the letter in another hand records that the signature has been cut out.