UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10658
Date: [13 May 1896][1]
Author: JW
Place: London
Recipient: Marion Peck[2]
Place: Paris
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/34/23
Document Type: ALS[3]


8. Fitzroy Square

Sunday -

My dear Miss Peck -

Thank you for your very kind letter[4] -

If you are not too fatigued after your journey, and find it quite convenient, will you come tomorrow to the studio, here, in the afternoon, at half past two o'clock? - [p. 2] The dress and slipper are as I told you ready for you - so that you will only have to bring your cloak and long gloves -

Will you send me a telegram in the morning - that I may know whether to expect you -

With kindest regards to your Mother[5],
Very sincerely yours

J. McNeill Whistler


This document is protected by copyright.


Envelope:

To
Miss Marion Peck
Hotel Royal -
Avenue Friedland
Paris
France
[stamp:] [POSTAGE AND INLAND REVENUE] 2½D
[postmark:] LONDON W. / 5.15 PM / MAY 13 / 96


Notes:

1.  [13 May 1896]
Dated from the postmark.

2.  Marion Peck
Marion Farquhar (b. ca 1872, m. 1897), née Peck [more], married William Rickman Farquhar in 1897. This letter concerns sittings for the Portrait of Miss Marion Peck (YMSM 439). Pennell described her in the portrait posed 'in evening dress with her long white green lined cloak thrown back [...] the colour was a harmony in silver and green' (Pennell, Elizabeth Robins, and Joseph Pennell, The Life of James McNeill Whistler, 2 vols, London and Philadelphia, 1908, vol. 2, p. 157).

3.  ALS
Written on deep bordered mourning paper; JW's wife had died on 10 May 1896.

4.  letter
Untraced.

5.  your mother
Annah B. Peck (b. ca 1850), patron [more].