UNIVERSITY of GLASGOW

The Corresponence of James McNeil Whistler
Home > On-line Edition > Transcription/Database Record

the on-line edition

System Number: 10651
Date: 26 November [1899][1]
Author: JW
Place: Paris
Recipient: Marion Farquhar[2]
Place: [Paris]
Repository: Library of Congress
Call Number: Manuscript Division, Pennell-Whistler Collection, PWC 1/34/15
Document Type: ALS


ADRESSE TÉLÉGRAPHIQUE - CHATHAMEL-PARIS
NO TÉLÉPHONIQUE : 247-53

[Chatham coat of arms with motto:] BENIGNO NUMINE
HOTEL CHATHAM
PARIS

Sunday Nov. 26th

Dear Mrs. Farquhar -

Your little Bleu[3] was brought to me here - where I am staying while the ladies[4] are for the time away, and the house in the Rue du Bac shut up -

It is quite true that your first note left me quite in the vague, and greatly bewildered concerning your address! -

Well this is excellent! - and as [p. 2] arranged so satisfactorily, in our little correspondence with Mr. Farquhar[5], I shall be ready to devote myself to you during December - beginning on Wednesday the 6th

Meanwhile it is of course very wrong in you to wish me to show a picture with which I have so elaborately explained, I am not satisfied - as the beautiful incarnation of yourself it should be - or it would be in your possession altogether -

Still - I suppose one cannot refuse anything to the "little American Princess"! so if you will come, to the studio, this next Friday at half past three or quarter to four, I shall be ready to receive you -

I need not say dear Mrs. Farquhar, how very pleased indeed, I shall be to see you again -

With kindest regards to yourself and your husband,
Very sincerely Yours

J. McNeill Whistler

I could manage Tuesday[6] afternoon at quarter to four, instead of Friday - Doubtless this would be better for your friend -

Will you kindly let me know tomorrow -

A line here during the day will do -


This document is protected by copyright.


Notes:

1.  26 November [1899]
Dated from the almanac.

2.  Marion Farquhar
Marion Farquhar (b. ca 1872, m. 1897), née Peck [more]. She was posing for Portrait of Miss Marion Peck (YMSM 439), which was never completed.

3.  Bleu
Fr., blue, meaning the Paris pneumatic telegraph form. Her telegraph has not been located.

4.  ladies
Rosalind Birnie Philip (1873-1958), JW's sister-in-law [more], and Frances Philip (1824-1917), née Black, JW's mother-in-law [more], who had been staying in JW's house at 110 rue du Bac.

5.  Mr. Farquhar
William Richman Farquhar (m. 1897), husband of Marion Farquhar [more].

6.  Tuesday
Double underlined.